Reviews are posted on a frequent basis, so please visit this site from time to time to catch up on all the new reviews, which will remain on display for a now extended period of at least four calendar months from the date of posting shown in brackets.  Reviews are listed in date order of posting, newest at the top of each relevant list.  To connect to the appropriate review page, just click anywhere on the title.  A ‘STAR PICK’ review is given to items felt to be so meritworthy as to warrant immediate attention.

This section includes gig reports - listed after cds, books and dvds below.


CDs...  NEW RECORDINGS

LEN BARRY  -  Black Like Me     (posted 25/2/17)

JOHNNY FLASH  -  I Wanna Do It To You     (posted 1/2/17)


CDs...  ARCHIVE MATERIAL

MAJOR LANCE  -  Ain’t No Soul (In These Old Shoes) : The Complete OKeh Recordings 1963-1967     (posted 21/4/17)

JOHNNY NASH  -  Stir It Up : The Anthology 1965-1979     (posted 6/4/17)

ADAM WADE  -  The Album Collection 1960-1962     (posted 6/4/17)

VALERIE CARR  -  Song Stylist Extraordinaire + Ev’ry Hour Ev’ry Day Of My Life     (posted 24/3/17)

CHET IVEY  -  A Dose Of Soul : The Sylvia Funk Recordings 1972-75     (posted 20/3/17)

MOTHER’S FINEST  -  Love Changes : The Anthology 1972-1983     (posted 9/3/17)

NORMAN CONNORS  -  Valentine Love : The Buddah/Arista Anthology     *****STAR PICK     (posted 9/3/17)

STARPOINT  -  Restless + Sensational     (posted 25/2/17)

SUGAR PIE DESANTO  -  A Little Bit Of Soul : 1957-1962     (posted 20/2/17)

GRAHAM CENTRAL STATION  -  Now Do U Wanta Dance + My Radio Sure Sounds Good To Me + Star Walk     (posted 8/2/17)

MANHATTANS  -  I Kinda Miss You : The Anthology, Columbia Records 1973-87     (posted 8/2/17)

DON (JUAN) WARD  -  Saxing With The Ladies Of Society Hill     (posted 1/2/17)

94 EAST featuring PRINCE  -  94 East Featuring Prince     (posted 21/1/17)

WILSON PICKETT  -  In The Midnight Hour + The Exciting Wilson Pickett     (posted 19/1/17)

WILSON PICKETT  -  The Wicked Pickett + The Sound Of Wilson Pickett     (posted 19/1/17)

WILSON PICKETT  -  I’m In Love + The Midnight Mover     (posted 19/1/17)

WILSON PICKETT  -  Hey Jude + Right On     (posted 19/1/17)

WILSON PICKETT  -  In Philadelphia + Don’t Knock My Love     (posted 19/1/17)

PERCY SLEDGE  -  When A Man Loves A Woman + Warm And Tender Soul     (posted 14/1/17)

PERCY SLEDGE  -  The Percy Sledge Way + Take Time To Know Her     (posted 14/1/17)

PERCY SLEDGE  -  My Special Prayer + Singles And Rarities     *****STAR PICK     (posted 14/1/17)

DENIECE WILLIAMS  -  Black Butterfly : The Essential Niecy     (posted 11/1/17)

ARCHIE BELL & the DRELLS  -  Let’s Groove : The Archie Bell & the Drells Story     *****STAR PICK     (posted 4/1/17)

VIVIAN REED  -  Yours Until Tomorrow : The Epic Years     *****STAR PICK     (posted 4/1/17)

PEOPLE’S CHOICE  -  Turn Me Loose    (posted 21/12/16)


VARIOUS ARTISTS COMPILATIONS...

Birth Of Soul : Special Detroit Edition 1961-64     (posted 15/4/17)

More From The Other Side Of The Trax : Stax-Volt 45rpm Rarities 1960-1968     (posted 15/4/17)

Pied Piper Finale     (posted 20/3/17)

Manhattan Soul 3     (posted 18/2/17)


BOOKS

MOTOWN : THE SOUND OF YOUNG AMERICA  -  by Adam White with Barney Ales     (posted 1/4/17)

RHYTHM AND BLUES IN NEW ORLEANS - REVISED  AND UPDATED  -  by John Broven     (posted 28/2/17)

SPINNING AROUND : THE HISTORY OF THE SOUL LP, VOL.1 - A-K  -  by John Lias     (posted 1/4/16)


GIG REPORTS

PORRETTA SOUL FESTIVAL, 2016     (report will remain on site until next year’s event)


PONDEROSA STOMP, 2015     (report will remain on site until next event)